Four corners: on the Quad’s agenda

What is Important?
From UPSC Perspectives
Prelims:About RCEP
Mains:Highlights,Challenges & Importance

Why in News?

As officials from the ‘Quadrilateral’ grouping of India, Australia, Japan and the U.S. meet in Singapore on Wednesday, their challenge will be to accurately describe their common agenda.


*The Quad is billed as four democracies with a shared objective to ensure and support a “free, open and prosperous” Indo-Pacific region. 
*During this round, the four countries are expected to discuss infrastructure projects they are working on and building humanitarian disaster response mechanisms
*The four countries are expected to talk about regional developments, including elections in the Maldives, the collapse of the government in Sri Lanka and the latest developments in North Korea
*With Quad talks being held on the sidelines of the East Asia summit, the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership summit and the ASEAN-India informal summit, discussions will include some of the overlapping issues among these groupings.
*Over the past few months, India and Japan have announced they will combine efforts on a number of projects in South Asia, including bridges and roads in Bangladesh, an LNG facility in Sri Lanka and reconstruction projects in Myanmar’s Rakhine province
*Australia has unveiled an ambitious $2 billion project to fund infrastructure and build maritime and military infrastructure in the Pacific region, on which it is willing to cooperate with other Quad members
*While Washington sees the U.S. and India as “bookends” of the Indo-Pacific, India and Japan have included the oceans up to Africa in their definition
*India has not admitted Australia in the Malabar exercises with the U.S. and Japan, despite requests from Canberra, and has also resisted raising the level of talks from an official to the political level
*India is the only member not in a treaty alliance with the other Quad countries


*Despite the potential for cooperation, the Quad remains a mechanism without a defined strategic mission
*Even a common definition of the geographical area encompassed has yet to be found
*In 2007, when the grouping was first formed following cooperation after the 2004 tsunami, the idea was to better coordinate maritime capabilities for disaster situations
*When revived in 2017, the grouping seemed to have become a counter to China’s growing inroads into the region
*The entire focus on the Indo-Pacific makes the Quad a maritime, rather than land-based, grouping, raising questions whether the cooperation extends to the Asia-Pacific and Eurasian regions
*Even on maritime exercises, there is a lack of concurrence

About RCEP:

*Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership is a proposed free trade agreement between the ten member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations and the six Asia-Pacific states, namely Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea, and New Zealand. with which ASEAN has existing free trade agreements.
*The grouping would comprise 25% of global GDP, 30% of global trade, 26% of FDI flows, and 45% of the population.

Way forward

*Each member of grouping is committed to building a stronger Quadrilateral engagement
*The outcome of the third round in Singapore will be judged by the ability of the group to issue a joint declaration, which eluded it in the first and second round

Four corners: on the Quad’s agenda Four corners: on the Quad’s agenda Reviewed by The Hindu Current Affairs on November 14, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.